Religious heritage in Val Cenis

Val Cenis is home to a remarkably rich religious heritage. Austere on the outside, the region's churches and chapels are home to Baroque art treasures. Discover them on the Chemins de l'Histoire.

Religious heritage at Val Cenis, an art form to discover!

Art to discover!

From the church of Saint-Pierre d'Extravache in Bramans to the chapel of Notre-Dame du Poivre and the restoration of the church of Saint-Michel in Lanslevillard, all the religious buildings in the villages of Val Cenis, whether churches, chapels or oratories, bear witness to the fervor with which local people have built places of worship since the dawn of time.

Saints are invoked to protect against natural disasters (Saint-Landry for rain and Sainte-Anne against avalanches) and diseases (Saint-Roch and Saint-Sébastien against the plague). A must-see is the Saint-Sébastien chapel at Val Cenis-Lanslevillard, with its unique painted decorations depicting the life of Christ and the saint. Entering this chapel is like immersing yourself in a "medieval comic book", with boxes painted on every wall. An experience not to be missed.

Heritage is alive and well at Val Cenis , and restoration projects are underway, in particular with local talent. In the tradition of the artists who sculpted and decorated the interiors of churches and chapels centuries ago, we invite you to meet Armelle Filliol, a local painter and restorer, for a visit or a discovery workshop. In particular, she was involved in restoring the superb interior paintings in the churches of Lanslevillard and Lanslebourg.

Results
Filter your search
Village
    • Bramans (3)
    • Lanslebourg-Mont-Cenis (1)
    • Lanslevillard (3)
    • Sollières-Sardières (2)
    • Termignon (3)
Free
    • Free (10)
    • 1
    • 2

Le patrimoine religieux à Val Cenis

Val Cenis regorge d’un patrimoine religieux d’une richesse remarquable. D’extérieur austère, les églises et chapelles du territoire abritent des trésors de l’art baroque. Découvrez-les en parcourant les Chemins de l’Histoire.

Le patrimoine religieux à Val Cenis, un art à découvrir !

Un art à découvrir !

De l’église Saint-Pierre d’Extravache à Bramans au chantier de restauration de l’église Saint-Michel à Lanslevillard en passant par la chapelle Notre-Dame du Poivre, tous les édifices religieux des villages de Val Cenis, qu’ils soient églises, chapelles ou oratoires, témoignent de la ferveur des habitants depuis la nuit des temps à bâtir des lieux de culte.

Les saints sont invoqués pour se protéger des fléaux naturels (Saint-Landry pour la pluie et Sainte-Anne contre les avalanches), des maladies (Saint-Roch et Saint-Sébastien contre la peste). D’ailleurs, il faut absolument visiter la chapelle Saint-Sébastien à Val Cenis-Lanslevillard qui est unique dans ses décors peints représentant la vie du Christ et du saint. Pénétrer dans cette chapelle, s’est s’immerger dans une “BD du Moyen-Age” avec des cases peintes sur tous les murs. Une expérience à ne pas rater.

Le patrimoine reste bien vivant à Val Cenis et des chantiers de restaurations sont menés, notamment avec des talents locaux. Dans la lignée des artistes qui ont sculpté et décoré les intérieurs des églises et chapelles il y a des siècles, nous vous invitons à rencontrer Armelle Filliol, peintre restauratrice locale, lors d’une visite ou d’un atelier découverte. Elle a notamment participé à la restauration des superbes peintures intérieures des églises de Lanslevillard et de Lanslebourg.

Résultats
Filtrer votre recherche
Village
    • Bramans (2)
    • Lanslebourg-Mont-Cenis (2)
    • Lanslevillard (3)
    • Sollières-Sardières (3)
    • Termignon (2)
Gratuit
    • Gratuit (11)
    • 1
    • 2