Scientific and technical heritage at Val Cenis

From hydraulic dams to Chappe telegraphs, Val Cenis is home to an astonishing technical and scientific heritage.

Dams and hydropower, the scientific and technical heritage at Val Cenis

Dams and hydropower

The Arc's exceptional hydraulic potential and the advent of "white coal" in the 20th century led to the construction of dams on the river and on the Mont Cenis plateau.

Between 1950 and 1970, EDF undertook the development of the Arc and chose the Mont Cenis plateau to create a large storage reservoir at the center of the scheme. The plateau offered the advantages of a high altitude and the topography of a large natural basin. Two dams, built by the Italians in the early 20th century, already existed (in spring, when the lake is at its lowest, their remains can be seen emerging).

The technical choice was an embankment dam or gravity dam (as at Serre-Ponçon in the Hautes Alpes), and work began in 1962 and was completed in 1970. With a capacity of 321 m3 of water and France's sixth-largest man-made reservoir, it has the unique feature that its water is turbined in both France and Italy.

Chappe telegraphs

The forerunner of telecommunications, Chappe optical telegraphy was present in Haute Maurienne as early as 1807. The "Chappe" communication system was based on articulated masts that formed signs. Each sign represented a word. Telegraphs were installed on high points (hills, towers, mountains, etc.), spaced around ten kilometers apart. When a telegraph formed a message, the next telegraph reproduced it, and so on to its destination.

This optical communication system enabled information to be transmitted much more quickly and reliably than a messenger on horseback. Chappe communication lines developed under Napoleon, who needed to send orders and instructions quickly from Paris to the farthest reaches of his Empire. There was, for example, a "Paris-Turin-Venice" Chappe communication line, with 12 telegraph stations in the Maurienne on the line.

Although several Chappe telegraphs have been restored in France, Haute Maurienne Vanoise is the only region where several telegraphs have been put back into operation, with the stations at Saint André, Avrieux and Val Cenis. In summer, these telegraphs are put back into operation by enthusiasts who trace ephemeral messages in the sky, based on a revolutionary technique. At Val Cenis, the Mollard-Fleury site, on the Sardières heights, also offers an attractive destination for walks or snowshoe hikes.

The Chappe telegraphs, scientific and technical heritage at Val Cenis Dominique Rault
Results
Filter your search
Village
    • Lanslebourg-Mont-Cenis (2)
    • Sollières-Sardières (1)
Free
    • Free (1)
    • 1

Le patrimoine scientifique et technique à Val Cenis

Du barrage hydraulique en passant par le télégraphes Chappe, Val Cenis abrite un patrimoine technique et scientifique des plus étonnant.

Barrages et hydroélectricité, le patrimoine scientifique et technique à Val Cenis

Barrages et hydroélectricité

Le potentiel hydraulique exceptionnel de l’Arc et l’avènement de la « houille blanche » au XXe siècle ont permis la réalisation de barrages sur la rivière et également sur le plateau du Mont Cenis.

Entre 1950 et 1970, EDF a entrepris l’aménagement de l’Arc et a retenu le plateau du Mont Cenis pour créer un grand réservoir d’accumulation au centre du dispositif. Ce plateau présentait les avantages d’une altitude élevée et d’une topographie de large cuvette naturelle. Deux barrages, construits par les Italiens au début du XXème siècle, existaient d’ailleurs déjà (au printemps, quand le lac est au plus bas, on voit d’ailleurs émerger leurs vestiges).

Le choix technique s’est porté sur un barrage en remblai ou barrage-poids (comme à Serre-Ponçon dans les Hautes Alpes) et les travaux ont commencé en 1962 pour s’achever en 1970. D’une capacité de 321 m3 d’eau et sixième plus grande retenue d’eau artificielle française, il a la particularité unique que ses eaux soient turbinées à la fois en France et en Italie.

Les télégraphes Chappe

Ancêtre des télécommunications, la télégraphie optique Chappe était présente en Haute Maurienne dès 1807. Le système de communication « Chappe » était basé sur des mats articulés qui permettait de former des signes. Chaque signe représentait un mot. Les télégraphes étaient installés sur des points hauts (collines, tours, montagnes…) et espacés les uns des autres d’une dizaine de kilomètres. Quand un télégraphe formait un message, le télégraphe suivant le reproduisait et ainsi de suite jusqu’à destination.

Ce système de communication optique permettait de transmettre des informations beaucoup plus rapidement et surement qu’un messager à cheval. Les lignes de communication Chappe se sont développé sous Napoléon, qui avait besoin d’envoyer rapidement ses ordres et ses consignes depuis Paris jusqu’aux confins de son Empire. Il y avait par exemple une ligne de communication Chappe « Paris-Turin-Venise » avec notamment 12 postes télégraphiques en Maurienne sur la ligne.

Si plusieurs télégraphes Chappe ont été restaurés en France, la Haute Maurienne Vanoise est la seule région où plusieurs télégraphes ont é té remis en fonction avec les postes de Saint André, d’Avrieux et de Val Cenis. L’été, ces télégraphes sont remis en fonction par des passionnés qui retracent dans le ciel des messages éphémères issus d’une technique révolutionnaire. A Val Cenis, le site du Mollard-Fleury, sur les hauteurs de Sardières, offre aussi un joli but de balade à pied ou en raquettes.

Les télégraphes Chappe, le patrimoine scientifique et technique à Val Cenis © Dominique Rault
Résultats
Filtrer votre recherche
Village
    • Sollières-Sardières (1)
Gratuit
    • Gratuit (1)
    • 1